Random Thoughts #3: National Police Woman Day

So, I didn’t know of this holiday until last year, but apparantly there’s something called National Police Woman Day. No, its not a national or international holiday. No, you don’t get to go home early from school. In fact, hardly anyone today truly acknowledges the role of police women in the force. I have a friend, Holly, who’s mum’s a police woman and she’s the bravest lady I’ve ever seen. I truly idolize her.

Theres this amazing article about how women police officer’s bring a unique and dynamic turn to community policing, but I won’t get into any of that right now. I just wanted to show my appreciation and acknowledgement to all those courageous women out there who are not spoken for. We respect you!

In special dedication to my friend’s mum,

Deliya x 🙂

Music This Week : Katy Perry

So this week, I;ve been obssessed with Katy Perry’s new single ‘Roar’ and I doubt there’s anyone out there who hasn’t heard it. Its the lead single for her upcoming fourth studio album, Prism. The song made its radio debut on the 10th of August and was released to iTunes and YouTube two days after that. I believe she herself co-wrote the song along with Dr.Luke, Max Martin and others. ‘Roar’ peaked at number one on the Billboard Hot 100 and also topped the charts in the UK, Canada, Australia, and Ireland. Many compared her 8th hit single to her 2010 single ‘Firework’.

I found the song not only catchy and totally power pop, but also inspirational. It talks about standing up for yourself and having courage and strength. Katy says that the song is about ‘discovering the power within yourself’. Its sort of a a fierce, fun song with a personal and powerful touch. All in all, its an amazing song, one of her best for sure.

Pre order ‘Prism’ on iTunes!

Keep your head up,

Deliya x 🙂