Teen Suicide And What I’ve Learnt From It

Recently, I’ve had one my classmates attempt suicide and it really changed my life. You wouldn’t think so, because we were never close but this sort of thing always scars you a little. Obviously, when I got the news, I was shocked. ‘Why in the world would she want to kill herself?’ and such obvious questions popped into my mind but then it isn’t like I’d never though along those lines ever.

There was a time when I felt that my life was so bad and out of control that I wondered if it was really worth it at and why I couldn’t just end it all. But the sob-story’s all behind me now and the lessons I’ve learnt are some of the most important I think I’ll ever know.

First of all, the thing about suicide is that nobody actually wants to die. People just feel like they’re in a bad place or situation in life and looking for an escape because it’s all too overwhelming and impossible to handle. They want relief from the depressing thoughts that ceaselessly haunt them and they don’t know any other way out.

Now, although I’m a firm believer in the fact that only you can save yourself, I think the best thing to do in case you’re a teenager with suicidal thoughts is too consult an adult, parent or counselor. It may seem unendurable and embarrassing but it’s better than ending your life.

No matter what‘s going on with your right now, what you’ve done and what you’re facing, it won’t be something you’re alone in. It’s all been done before and there’s someone out there who’s going through the same things you are. You’re not alone and talking it out with someone mature and calm will help you.

The only reason you’re feeling the way you are is because you’re focusing way too hard on the negative aspects of your situation. You’re emphasizing on everything that’s wrong in your life in your mind instead of thinking of the exact opposite. You may not see it now, but there are so many people that would be devastated if you were gone.

Apart from getting help, I’ve tried to put together a list of positive distractions that may be of some help to you.

1. Type aimlessly about anything you want until you feel better

2. Go outside for a walk or a jog

3. Go to a cafe and sit outside with a cup of tea or coffee

4. Dress nice (it’s proven to make you feel better about yourself…no more PJ Days!)

5. Force yourself to smile at those you see and enjoy the feeling of being smiled at.

6. Focus on the little things in everyday life that bring you joy

7. Pick up a hobby you love and invest in it

8. Put together some D.I.Y. Projects

9. Bake or cook a meal

10. Take a bubble bath and light incense

11. Compliment yourself

12. Realize that you’re strong and that everything will be OK

That’s all for now I think, but before I pen off, I’d like to list out some websites you should definitely check out if you’re considering suicide. Just click here, here or here!

Just remember this: You are important. You are beautiful. You are loved.

Stay strong,

Deliya x 🙂

What did you think?

