Things I Hate About the Internet

'Nick' played by Jake Johnson

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m part of that whole wifi-driven generation that presumably ‘lives it’s life online‘ and spends hours of endless fun on the internet. But, I have to say there are some things that the internet offers us that we wished it just didn’t. Let me explain…

____________________________________________________________

1. Updates about peoples’ lives

Whether it’s an overemotional friend on Facebook or a person who tweets every event of their life as and when they’re happening to them, we all know that one person that has absolutely no idea what “too much information” is. It may come as a surprise to you, but our day was going perfectly fine without you reminding us how blessed we are to be alive or whatever crap. It’s social media, not your crying towel. Get it together people! #sorrynotsorry

__________________________________

2. People who overuse acronyms

I mean, yes, we get it, writing ‘lol’ or ‘bro’ is so much faster than typing out the whole real thing, but when people go crazy with the ‘TBH’s and the ‘YOLO’s, that’s when things get annoying. Unless you’re being ironic or something, you should know that ‘bro’ing it out on the internet is just about the lamest thing I’ll be reading all week. So stop it. Just, please. I’m asking nicely.

__________________________________________________

3. Pre-schoolers with an internet connection

OK, I don’t mean to be a Grammar Nazi but is it that hard to get your grammar and spelling right when you type? At least make an effort to make the word you type closely resemble the actual word. I mean, I’m honored that you think I’m clever enough to decode that comment you made on my post where not even a word was written in actual English, but please spare me the mind games unless you’re an actual secret agent in dire need of my help.

_________________________________________________

4. Commercials/Advertisements

You know what I’m talking about if you use YouTube at all. Ever since mid-2013, every single video has this little non-related prequel a.k.a. an advertisement telling us about a product that we definitely are not interested in buying, that compulsorily take up 5 seconds of our day. I mean, seriously, if there is even one human being on this planet that has benefited from these ads or has bought something after watching them, please, let me know and I will gladly rest my case. Exactly. I mean, you don’t even have to ask me, YouTube. I have always and will always want to ‘Skip This Ad‘ as fast as possible (i.e. exactly 5 seconds). Just saying. That button is a game, IT’S A DAMN JOKE YOUTUBE!

______________________________________________________________

5. Internet fights

Why do people even waste their time with this? Why?? I mean, how is it possible that they don’t know what a spectacle they’re making for everyone else. People typing mean stuff from behind their screens in Caps Lock is really not the way you fight and doing it over the internet just gives us all recorded proof of what an idiot you are. It’s a chance for us to point and laugh at you. Just get that and stop already.

_____________________________________________________________

6. Misinformed souls

The internet is full to bursting with people who don’t know anything. If you look for any random piece of information, 10 people will probably give you 10 different answers. Everyone is just as clueless as you are and it’s no secret or lie. Don’t believe everything you hear on the internet because, chances are, it may have been typed out my a clueless self-assured teenager somewhere in a part of the world you’ve never even heard of.

_____________________________________________________________

I’m sure I’m not alone in this. (Or am I?) That’s all for now!

Stay amazing!

Deliya x 🙂

What did you think?

