Random Thought #4: Roald Dahl

I’m not sure if I’m the only one, but all through my pre-teens I read almost nothing but Roald Dahl. The man is my childhood (apart from J.K. Rowling, of course). So, I thought it only fair to dedicate this one for him on Roald Dahl Day, for the world’s No1 Storyteller on his birthday.

If you have’t heard of Roald Dahl, then I’m sorry, but you need to get your behind off that chair, log off, and READ. And if for some strange reason you don’t own a copy of one of Dahl’s finest tales, make sure to go and purchase them from Amazon. He is one of the best known novelists of all-time and his writing style is humorous and very engaging – it ranges from pure made-up fiction to dreams-come-true and ever lasting friendships. I truly enjoyed reading every one of his books.

I think my favorite, as a kid,(apart from Charlie and the Chocolate factory) was Matilda. The story’s about a young girl who’s a genius since birth but her parents dislike her and are too wrapped up in their own lives to see it. When she starts school, however, her teacher, Miss Honey notices her extraordinarily talented brain right away and is ready to help her get where she deserves, but add a scary and mean headmistress (Miss Trunchbull), an uncertain past, and some groundbreaking newfound supernatural powers, and you have one messy situation. I’m not going to give the story away, but I just loved this book as a kid. Of course, now I’ve outgrown it (its probably for 8-11 year olds) but its still worth reading.

All in all, he was an amazing writer and his name is a must-have on every bookshelf.

Happy reading!

Deliya x 🙂

 

 

What did you think?

