From Paris, With Love

Paris. The City of Lights and Love. Romantic, untainted artistic beauty.

I’ve gone there twice in my 17 years, for 10 days each. And I was blown away. The city takes my breath away and no matter how many times I go there, it’s buzzing life and unforgettable aura will make me feel like coming back.

My family used to travel a lot when I was younger. The first time I visited it, I was just 10. When our plane landed in Paris, it was, quite coincidentally, the 14th of July, France’s Independence Day. It was already 7 in the evening by the time we got to our hotel but I remember dragging my poor parents to the Eiffel Tower anyway, regardless of how tired they were after our flight.

And it was beautiful. It was getting dark by the time we reached it and the it was all lit up like a Christmas Tree and fireworks were going off all around it in patriotic fervor but at the time, I didn’t know any better. All I knew in that moment was that the skyline back home had never been quite this…dazzling.

We climbed up to the 2nd floor and looked down at the city lights. The moon was high above me, and the streets were far below and the wind was blowing in my hair and it was like magic. It felt like it was where I belonged. It felt like it all fit in somewhere in me.

Of course, I went again when I was 15 years old because I just couldn’t get enough of the city. (And because I’d read The Da Vinci Code and needed to see the Louvre with a fresh mindset). Its little stone-paved streets and its bookstores and little cafes just make you fall in love all over again. There is no moment quite as beautiful as resting your tired legs, pulling out a cane chair and having a nice latte in a Parisian cafe.

Coming to Paris in the winter was inspirational. Creative was not a word intense enough to describe what I felt the day I saw snow fall in Paris. If you are a writer looking for a that slow black and white mood to get your ideas, come to the City of Love in the Season of Snow. 

Of course the food, the fashion, the language and the people were a huge part of the charm and the architecture and history of the city was mind-blowing. And let’s not forget Disneyland. Paris is never more pretty than it is at night. The city pretty much comes alive under its starry covers. There is no limit to the artistic inspiration you can derive out of the night life of Paris.

That’s all for now guys, I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I loved recalling it, and I hope this makes you want to fly to Paris on your next holiday! Tell me what you think!

Yours always,

Deliya x 🙂

P.S. No, none of these pictures are mine because, neither am I good at photography and neither do I have any pictures that do not include my family in it, so there.

What did you think?